Hellos and Good-Byes

I read chapter six of The Creative Curriculum for Infants, Toddlers & Twos by Dodge, Berkre, and Rudick. Here is my reflection on it and the teaching practice questions.


PIRO4D / Pixabay

Do you say hello and good-bye to each child and family member every day? What messages do you think your hellos and good-byes (or lack of them) send?

Yes, I say hello and good-bye to each child and family member every day! I believe doing so sends a message that I care about the child/family and helps children understand the routine we have throughout the week. This will help both family members and children feel more comfortable and get used to transitioning.

What do you think about a child who cries a lot when his parents say good-bye? How does his crying make you feel? Do you feel differently about a child who never cries at drop-off time?

I completely understand why a child cries a lot when their parents say good-bye, it’s hard to leave someone you love so much for so long. Their crying makes my heart break so, I always try my best to show that I understand and that I am here to make them feel better.

I believe that children who don’t cry at drop-off time just have gotten used to the transition faster than others. I don’t feel different because I know they do miss their parents, they just express it differently, like talking about it instead.

What might explain some parents’ attempts to leave without saying good-bye? What are they feeling? How do you feel when parents leave that way? How do the children feel?

Some parents might leave without saying good-bye because they are rushing for work and don’t have time to sit with their child as they go through their emotions. Or, they do not want to upset their child by initiating the transition and being the one to say bye. Either way, I know that parents don’t feel the best when leaving their child because they miss them as much as they do them. I know that most would love to spend all their time with their kids if they were able to.

I can understand why parents may leave that way, but I would remind them that it would help if they stayed for a bit to say good-bye or leave the child with an item that is comforting. This is because I know that children are feeling very sad at this moment and alone. Giving them something that is comforting and that reminds them of their parents will make them happier.

How do you help parents reunite with their children at the end of the day? How does a parent feel when her child cries or keeps playing? How do you feel?

I help parents reunite with their children by using an excited tone and explaining that the adults are here to pick them up. When the parent arrives, I tell them how their child’s day has been and wish them a good rest of their day.

A parent may feel rejected if their child ignores them or guilty if they cry. I would feel bad for the parents and want to let them know that these reactions are normal, I wouldn’t want them feeling guilty about not being with their child or picking them up. I also would feel for the child because I know they have a lot of emotions they feel for their parents.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *