What could have been an alternative career for you?

Image by Bokskapet from Pixabay

My first-ever blog post and I have no idea what to write about! I turned to The Edublogger’s 50 Blog Topics And Prompts For Teachers for help. There were so many prompts to choose from, but I decided on enlightening you all with a look into the career I would’ve pursued had I not chosen to teach.

As an Arab, it is very common for people in my culture to raise their children to become doctors, lawyers, or engineers. Teachers were good, too, but knowing the pay isn’t much they tend to shy away from it. So, when I told my extended family I wanted to be a teacher, they weren’t big fans.

I became stressed since everyone told me it’d be difficult to live off of a teacher’s salary and that working in the medical field was a better option. The issue was that I wasn’t interested in any career in the medical field. Well, except for maybe one.

Image by Dmitriy Gutarev from Pixabay
Image by Piotr Sadowski from Pixabay

At the community college I went to, there was a program for radiological technicians. I was actually really into it and it was pretty good pay, especially compared to a teacher’s pay. I was so close to pursuing it that I had all my semesters planned out, but I realized that I wasn’t as passionate about it as I was about teaching. Last minute, I changed my plans and completed courses toward my bachelor’s degree in early childhood education.

If I had to ever make a career switch I would probably go with radiological technology. Honestly, though, I’m happy with my current choice because I love working with children and learning about their development.


“Life presents many choices, the choices we make determine our future.”

– Catherine Pulsifer

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2 thoughts on “What could have been an alternative career for you?

  1. Hey! It is also my first time blogging, it’s nice to see someone else on the same boat. I love that you found your passion in becoming a future educator!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *